October 23, 2016

Farnsworth Lectures on Presidential Election

Stephen Farnsworth, professor of political science and director of the University’s Center for Leadership and Media Studies, recently delivered a lecture titled “The Presidential Candidates, the Mass Media and the Angry Voters of 2017​” at the Wells Fargo Forum in Falmouth, Virginia.


Konieczny Presents at American Mathematical Society Meeting

Janusz Konieczny, professor of mathematics, gave a talk, A new definition of conjugacy for semigroups, in the Special Session on Recent Trends in Semigroup Theory at the meeting of the American Mathematical Society, University of Denver, Denver, Colorado, Oct. 8-9, 2016.

Farnsworth Lectures in State Department Program

Stephen Farnsworth, professor of political science and director of the University’s Center for Leadership and Media Studies, recently delivered a U.S. State Department lecture titled “U.S. Journalism, Public Opinion and Foreign Policy Development,” before a delegation of international journalists visiting under the government’s Institute for International Education Visitor Leadership Program.

Al-Tikriti Participates in Smithsonian Institution CRI Workshop

Associate Professor of History and American Studies Nabil Al-Tikriti participated in the Integrating Humanitarian Response and Cultural Heritage in Disasters workshop on Oct. 6-7.  Sponsored by the Smithsonian Institution’s Cultural Rescue Initiative (CRI), the workshop was held at the National Museum of Natural History, in Washington, D.C.

On the first day, Al-Tikriti joined 26 other officials and experts in following presentations on cultural heritage protection in conflict and disaster zones, both domestic and international (including two presentations on efforts underway in Syria). On the second day, he provided a 15-minute response to the previous day’s presentations and discussions, before joining the other participants in deliberative breakout sessions.

Invited because of both his prior work on the looting of Iraqi manuscript collections following the 2003 Anglo-American-Australian invasion and his ongoing work with MSF/Doctors Without Borders USA, Al-Tikriti joined officials and representatives from the Smithsonian Institution, State Department, U.S. Institute of Peace, FEMA, American Red Cross, World Bank, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Park Service, National Guard, the Rose Museum at Brandeis University, George Washington University and the University of Pennsylvania to provide a variety of perspectives on potential institutional, legal and communication structures in the field of cultural rescue in the years to come.

Konieczny Publishes in Semigroup Forum

Janusz Konieczny, professor of mathematics, co-authored a research article, Directed graphs of inner translations of semigroups, published in the journal Semigroup Forum.

Farnsworth Presents Research Paper on Virginia Politics

Stephen Farnsworth, professor of political science and director of the University’s Center for Leadership and Media Studies, recently presented a research paper titled “News Coverage of the 2013 Virginia Governor’s Race Versus Presidential Election News” at the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association in Philadelphia.

Pineda Gives Talk at Library of Congress Oct. 6

Assistant Professor of English Jon Pineda presents “Filipino Americans: The Other Asian Americans” on Thursday, Oct. 6, at 1 p.m. in the Mary Pickford Theater at the Library of Congress. He will be reading from his newest book, “Little Anodynes.”

The Library of Congress celebrates Hispanic Heritage Month, commemorated each year from Sept. 15 to Oct. 15, with a series of lectures, concerts and book talks. The programs are being hosted by various divisions throughout the Library. All events are free and open to the public; no tickets or reservations are required.

Magrakvelidze Publishes Article in Physical Review A

Maia Magrakvelidze, assistant professor in the Physics Department, co-authored an article with Mohamed El-Amine Madjet and Himadri S. Chakraborty titled “Attosecond delay of xenon 4d photoionization at the giant resonance and Cooper minimum” in Physical Review A 94, 013429 published online 7/28/16, (See link: http://journals.aps.org/pra/abstract/10.1103/PhysRevA.94.013429)

Wilson Publishes Two Papers with Students

Laura Wilson, Assistant Professor of Psychological Science, has published two papers with recent graduates of the University of Mary Washington. During their senior year, Alesha Ballman, Emma Leheney, Katherine Miller and Brittany Simmons completed two projects on sexual assault under the guidance of Dr. Wilson.

The first paper, “Examining the psychological effect of rape acknowledgment: The interaction of acknowledgment status and ambivalent sexism,” was published in the Journal of Clinical Psychology. Based on the results of this project, they found that emotional functioning among female rape survivors was a function of both the survivor’s conceptualization of the event and her beliefs about gender.

The second paper, “Bystander perceptions of same-gender versus mixed-gender rape: A pilot study,” was published in the Journal of Aggression, Maltreatment, & Trauma. They found that the gender of the individuals involved in a rape incident significantly impacted how observers described the sexual assault experience. Furthermore, regardless of the gender of the individuals involved in the incident, approximately half of college students did not label a non-consensual sexual act as rape.

Larus Appears on Channel NewsAsia Talk Show

Elizabeth Freund Larus, Waple Professor of Political Science and International Affairs, offered political commentary on the South China Sea issue on the Channel NewsAsia July 6 episode of “Between the Lines: Great Power Politics in the Asia Pacific.”