October 26, 2020

UMW Commemorates 25th Anniversary of Berlin Wall

The University of Mary Washington will commemorate the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall with “Fall of the Wall Campus Weeks” starting Monday, Oct. 13.   Berlin WallCampus Weeks, coordinated by UMW’s German Program in cooperation with the German Embassy in Washington, D.C., will continue through Thursday, Nov. 6. All events, with the exception of the German Gala on Nov. 6, are free and open to the public. The program will open with the building and painting of a wall in memory of the assembly of the Berlin Wall by the German Democratic Republic in 1961. Construction will begin on Monday, Oct. 13 on Campus Walk in front of Ball Circle and concludes on Thursday, Oct. 16 with a ceremony at 4 p.m. Other program events include:
  • Film Screening of Sonnenallee, Wednesday, Oct. 15 at 7 p.m. in Combs Hall, Room 139
  • German Game Night, Monday, Oct. 20 at 7 p.m. in Lee Hall, Room 412
  • Film Screening of Nikolaikirche, Wednesday, Oct. 22 at 7 p.m. in Combs Hall, Room 139
  • Panel Discussion, “Living (with)out Walls: The Korean, Palestinian, and Mexican Experience,” Thursday, Oct. 23 at 7 p.m. in Lee Hall, Room 411
  • Reading and discussion with German author Martin Jankowski, Tuesday, Oct. 28, at 5 p.m. in Lee Hall, Room 412
  • Halloween Celebration and Film Screening of We are the Night, Thursday, Oct. 30 at 7 p.m. in Combs Hall, Room 237
  • Film screening of Berlin is in Germany, Tuesday, Nov. 4 at 7 p.m. in Combs Hall, Room 237
  • German Gala, Thursday, Nov. 6 at 7 p.m. in the Faculty Staff Dining Room at Seacobeck Hall
Campus Weeks will conclude with the destruction of the wall on Thursday, Nov. 6 at 4 p.m. on Campus Walk in front of Ball Circle. The community is invited to participate and take home a piece of the wall as a reminder of the occasion. For more information, contact Marcel Rotter at (540) 654-1996 or mrotter@umw.edu.