September 27, 2023

UMW’s Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Inducts 47 New Members

The Kappa of Virginia chapter of Phi Beta Kappa

The University of Mary Washington chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Kappa of Virginia, recently inducted 46 students and one alumna into the chapter.  Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776 and has since upheld the principles of freedom of inquiry and liberty of thought and expression, sponsoring activities to advance the study of the humanities, the social sciences and the natural sciences. The society invites the most outstanding arts and sciences students at America’s leading colleges and universities for membership.

The UMW chapter, Kappa of Virginia, selects its members based on rigorous scrutiny of students’ academic achievements as demonstrated through grade point averages.  This year, the UMW chapter chose seniors with weighted GPAs of 3.74 or higher and a select group of juniors.

The chapter also extended an offer of membership to alumna Rebecca Young Guy, class of 1961, for her outstanding career as an educator and community activist. Guy, a Stafford County, Va., resident, taught English and Latin in Fredericksburg, Stafford and Quantico for 44 years. She is the co-founder of the Rappahannock Council on Domestic Violence and founding member of the White Oak Volunteer Rescue Squad.

New members of Kappa of Virginia include:

  • John Ackley
  • Kyle Allwine
  • Tera Beatty
  • Hannah Beckman
  • Ann Carroll
  • Lisa Carter
  • Katherine Casey
  • Elyse Clark
  • Nicole Cochran
  • Kelsey Conway
  • Lindsay Cutler
  • Megan DeSmit
  • Kathryn Dillinger
  • Aubrey Elliott
  • Hallie Feingold
  • Marina Frano
  • Paige Gibbons
  • Katherine Gibson
  • Emily Goldhammer
  • Anne Grasselli
  • Rebecca Young Guy
  • Anna Holman
  • Callie Kyhl
  • Lauren Kyser
  • Christine LaPlaca
  • Amy Leap
  • Allison Leninger
  • Paola Maldonado-Torres
  • Shaun Mayer
  • Jessica Murnin
  • Amy Newcomb
  • David Noel
  • Brooke Parker
  • Theodore Pugh
  • Katherine Rosinski
  • Lucas Ruth
  • Kelly Scott
  • Amy Smetana
  • Ericka Smith-Thomas
  • Mary Snapp
  • Lonnie Southall
  • Chelsea Thomas
  • Annie Truslow
  • Abbey Vinik
  • Alice Wagner
  • Margaret Walker
  • Elizabeth Williams
About Brynn Boyer

Brynn Boyer is assistant director of media and public relations and a 2010 graduate of UMW.