February 24, 2024

UMW Names Ackermann, Hegmann, MacEwen and Zaidman Newest Emeriti

Ernest Ackermann

Three longtime professors and a veteran administrator will be awarded emeritus status at the University of Mary Washington’s undergraduate commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 12.

Ernest Ackermann will be named Professor Emeritus of Computer Science; Edward Hegmann will be named Professor of Emeritus of Athletics, Health and Physical Education; David MacEwen will be named Professor Emeritus of Psychology; and Marsha Zaidman will be named Associate Professor Emerita of Computer Science.

The title of emeritus is bestowed on faculty members who have served the university for at least 15 years and who have attained the rank of professor or associate professor.

Edward Hegmann

For full bios of each professor, read the announcement from Tuesday, May 8.






Marsha Zaidman

David MacEwen

About Brynn Boyer

Brynn Boyer is assistant director of media and public relations and a 2010 graduate of UMW.