June 13, 2024

Economics Students Participate in Economics Scholars Program

UMW Students and Margaret Ray at the ESP Conference

UMW Students and Margaret Ray at the ESP Conference

Six University of Mary Washington economics majors recently participated in the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas’ Economics Scholars Program hosted in Dallas, Texas.

Seniors Marissa Yoder and Matt Cronin both participated on the peer review board for the conference. Cronin also presented  his research. Juniors Taylor Knight and Luke Mendelsohn presented their research papers.

Junior Nicole Nunez served as a paper discussant, and junior Roxette Sklavos  as a session chair.  Margaret Ray, professor of economics and director of the UMW Center for Economic Education, served as the faculty sponsor.

The Economics Scholars Program, ESP, is designed to foster the involvement of undergraduate economics students in all facets of economic research. The cornerstone of the ESP is the annual ESP Conference. Since 2007, student scholars and faculty from institutions across the U.S. and Canada have come together to share undergraduate student-initiated or student–faculty co-authored works, ideas about the role of undergraduate research in the curriculum and the challenges and concerns of undergraduates who conduct research.


About Brynn Boyer

Brynn Boyer is assistant director of media and public relations and a 2010 graduate of UMW.