July 17, 2024

Employee Appreciation Day

Virginia Public Service Week wrapped up on Monday with the annual employee appreciation celebration that included the announcement of several awards, food and games. Check out photos and the award winners below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Charles Coleman Award winner is Carla Bailey, Interlibrary Loan Supervisor.

The Richard and Rosemary Hurley Award winner is Virginia Ashley, Director of Reporting and Decision Support.

Staff Advisory Council’s Larry Atkins Award winners are:

  • Melina Downs, Media Manager
  • Erika Spivey, Administrative Assistant
  • Susan Worrell, Special Assistant to the President for University of Events

The University of Mary Washington received the Gold Leaf Award for Landscape Beautification Activities for the beautiful campus and the proper professional standards in the care of the landscape, notably the trees. The award was presented by Nancy Herwig, executive director of the Mid- Atlantic Chapter of the International Society of Arboriculture or MAC-ISA. Herwig presented the award to Robbie Trowbridge, supervisor for the Fredericksburg Campus and Tony Baldacci, supervisor for Brompton, JAEC and the UMW Apartments, and Joni Wilson, director of landscape and grounds.

Other 2014 Nominees:

S.A.C. Larry Atkins Nominees Charles Coleman Nominees Hurley Award Nominees
Dei Bayer David Ludeker Chrissy Bowdren
Vickie Chapman Tommy Pack Darnel Smith
Angela Lilly Lynda Worthy Jeremy Vaughn
Pam Lowery John Wiltenmuth
Pacifique Munezero Melissa Yakabouski
Tommy Pack
Jeff Pugh
Mele Richardson-Ransom
Darnel Smith
Nicole St. John
Alicia Tisdale
Jeremy Vaughn
Pam Verbeck
Janice White-Wormley
Alvin Williams