June 7, 2023

Accepting Nominations for University and SAC Awards


It is that time of year again for your  nominations to be submitted for two of our University Recognition Awards.  Deadline Sept. 12. 

We will continue our celebration of excellence with the announcement of this year’s nominees, their champions, and the award recipients at the fall staff luncheon event in October.

  • Charles Coleman Memorial Service Award: (supervisor nominations only): Charles Coleman was an employee of 29 years who demonstrated pride, dedication, and loyalty throughout his many years of service. This award was established in honor of his memory and exemplary service.  All classified and hourly employees with at least 5 years of continuous employment are eligible for the award.  Nomination submission should be submitted by:  5:00 p.m., Sept. 12, 2016

The Staff Advisory Council is now accepting nominations for the Larry Atkins Award.  Larry was one of the first employees to receive the S.A.C. “We Couldn’t Do it Without You Award.” That award was renamed in his honor.

Larry Atkins Award winners:

·         lend a helping hand to their teammates

·         go above and beyond in each and every task while wearing a smile

·         set a positive example for other UMW employees

S.A.C. chooses 3 winners – 1 wage employee, 1 classified employee, and 1 administrative faculty employee.  All UMW employees are eligible to nominate and to be nominated for one of the three awards.   

S.A.C. began accepting nominations on Aug. 15. All nominations must be received by 5 p.m. Monday, Sept. 12.  Winners will be announced by S.A.C. at the Fall Employee gathering, and winners will receive $100. 

To nominate someone, use the following link and complete the form. Larry Atkins Award nomination form            

Your S.A.C. members appreciate all you do and especially that you are willing to help us recognize those we just couldn’t do it without!

If you have questions please contact John Symonds jsymonds@umw.edu or Pam Lowery at plowery@umw.edu 


  • Richard V. and Rosemary A. Hurley Presidential Commendation: 

This year’s Hurley award selection was made in Spring 2016, prior to Rick’s leaving.  Nominees, their champions and the award recipient, Allyson Moerman, will also be celebrated at the fall event.

Please visit the University Recognition Awards webpage for award selection criteria, nomination procedures, and the online nomination form for each award above.