June 14, 2024

Staff Advisory Council News

Fall Employee Luncheon and Awards

Our annual Fall employee luncheon is scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 18, at 11:30 in the University Center’s Chandler Ballroom. Join your co-workers and friends for lunch, fun and fellowship. Charles Coleman and Larry Atkins award winners will be announced. Everyone will have a chance to win prizes. Bring your EagleOne ID card to enter the luncheon and be entered to win a gift card. We look forward to seeing you there!


Food Drive
SAC is collecting non-perishable food items through Friday, Dec. 16.  Donations will benefit the Fredericksburg Area Food Bank, except for donations collected between Nov. 6-11.  Those donations will benefit the Student Athletes’ STOP Hunger Now Food Drive.  If you’re interested in having a donation collection box in your area, please contact SAC Activities.


Community Engagement Forum
Your input is valuable! Forum Notes have been posted. Please take a moment to review the notes and leave comments. The engagement committee will follow up with the Cabinet within the next few weeks to share insight and perspective from the forums.


Excellent Eagle Employee
To nominate your co-workers, supervisor, or employees for the Excellent Eagle Employee award, simply send an email to eenominations@umw.edu with Excellent Eagle Employee in the subject line. Be sure to provide the person’s name, department, and work location with the most convenient parking lot, and the reason they should be recognized.


Thoughts, Ideas, Suggestions and  Feedback
Your input and suggestions are important to us! Share your thoughts and ideas with SAC by completing the suggestions form on our website. Let us know what’s on your mind. What can we do to help make UMW a great place to work?


Upcoming Meeting

SAC’s next meeting is Thursday, Oct. 20, at the Stafford campus at 1 p.m.  Meetings are open to any member of the UMW community who’d like to attend.  Dr. Anand Rao will be our guest speaker.  Dr Rao is Director of the Speaking Intensive Program and Chairman of the University Faculty Council.