June 4, 2023

Young Graduates from Leadership Fredericksburg

Kimberly Young, executive director for Continuing and Professional Studies

Kimberly Young, executive director for Continuing and Professional Studies

Kimberly Young, executive director of Continuing and Professional Studies at the University of Mary Washington, recently graduated as part of the Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce’s 12th Leadership Fredericksburg class. The ceremony was held on May 17 at UMW’s Stafford campus. Young was among the 31 fellows who began the program in September 2018.

Since 2017, Young has been responsible for expanding Mary Washington’s credit and non-credit programs for adult learners. She earned her B.A. in public policy studies from Duke University, and earned both an MBA and a Master of Management in hospitality from Cornell University. She has nearly 20 years of experience in education, consulting and hospitality, and previously served as the executive director of Executive Education and Executive MBA programs at the Henry W. Bloch School of Management, University of Missouri-Kansas City.

According to a Chamber press release, the class started with a personality profile assessment and continued each month as community, business, nonprofit, political and educational leaders in the Fredericksburg area offered the fellows insights about their own personal leadership journeys. Fellows were also paired with mentors who supported their progress in the program, which culminated with presentations of their Community Action Projects at the Central Rappahannock Regional Library, and later, at Lifepoint Church’s Spotsylvania campus for a team prize.

The Chamber is now accepting applications for Leadership Fredericksburg’s 2020 Class. The class of 2020 will be Leadership Fredericksburg’s 13th class. Since 2008, the program has graduated over 300 fellows.

An application can be obtained online at www.fredericksburgchamber.org or by calling the Chamber office at (540) 373-9400. There is a $25 application fee. Applications must be received at the Chamber office by 5 p.m. on July 1.