October 2, 2023

UMW Employee Awards

The following message is from the Office of Human Resources: 


Each year, through the presentation of three awards, the University of Mary Washington recognizes employees who provide exemplary service to the University. These employees are nominated by other members of the University community. This year’s award winners will be announced at the Fall Luncheon – save the date for Tuesday, Oct. 17, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Cedric Rucker University Center, Chandler Ballroom. The deadline for submitting nominations is 5 p.m. on Monday, September 25, 2023 with the form linked for each award below.


Richard V. and Rosemary A. Hurley Presidential Commendation: The intent of this award is to honor Mr. and Mrs. Hurley, who consistently demonstrated a desire to recognize and reward outstanding service of University employees, and who had led by example in their work at Mary Washington. The benefactors of the award are Elmer and Marceline Weatherly Morris, Class of 1950. Eligibility for this award is open to UMW employees, with preference for administrative/professional faculty members.


Charles Coleman Memorial Service Award: Charles Coleman was an employee of 29 years who demonstrated pride, dedication and loyalty throughout his many years of service. This award was established in honor of his memory and exemplary service and has been recently endowed by President Paino, Cabinet, and campus leadership. All classified and hourly employees with at least five years of continuous employment are eligible for the award; all employees are invited to nominate any of their colleagues who meet the eligibility requirement.


University Staff Council’s Larry Atkins Staff Awards: The University Staff Council recognizes UMW employees who are the unsung heroes of our offices. Larry Atkins was one of the first employees to receive the U.S.C.  “We Couldn’t Do it Without You Award,” which has since been renamed in his memory. Any administrative faculty, wage and/or classified employee may be nominated. Three UMW employees will be selected (one from each of the above classifications).


See the list of all past award recipients.


For questions on nomination processes, please contact Sarah Appleby about the Atkins award or Pam Lowery regarding the Coleman and Hurley awards.


This email is being sent to you in accordance with the UMW Broadcast Email Policy. Please do not respond directly to this message with comments or questions, but to the office or individuals listed above