June 25, 2024

UMW Announces Faculty Awards, Honors Faculty Emeriti

Nicole Crowder and Miriam Liss

Nicole Crowder and Miriam Liss

At the end of each spring semester, UMW faculty gather to approve the graduates and recognize colleagues who are retiring from their dedicated service. Departmental tributes chronicle their time in the classrooms and labs, with committees and their communities, as leaders in undergraduate research, and in their areas of study. In spring 2024, UMW recognized seven faculty emeriti.

Faculty members who have served the University of Mary Washington for at least 15 years and who have attained the rank of professor or associate professor are eligible to be considered for emeritus status, which is bestowed by the Board of Visitors.

In addition, at an April 24 meeting, the University announced two annual awards. Professor of Chemistry Nicole Crowder was recognized with the Faculty Leadership Award, and Professor and Chair of Psychological Science Miriam Liss was honored with the 2024 Anderson Distinguished Professor Award. Read more.