May 28, 2023

UMW to Award Emeritus Status at Commencement

Three longtime professors and a veteran administrator will be awarded emeritus status at the University of Mary Washington's undergraduate commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 7. Roy M. Gordon will be named Professor Emeritus of Athletics, Health and Physical Education, Lorene C. Nickel will be named Professor Emerita of Art, Joan T. Olson will be named Associate Professor Emerita of Sociology, and John N. Pearce will be named Director of the James Monroe Museum and Memorial Library, Director of the James Monroe Presidential Center, and University Liaison for the Enchanted Castle Site Emeritus.
About Brynn Boyer

Brynn Boyer is assistant director of media and public relations and a 2010 graduate of UMW.