June 17, 2024

Climate Action Task Force – Draft Objectives and Upcoming Townhalls, April 13 and 25

The following message is from the Climate Action Task Force:

In April 2022, President Paino appointed a task force of students, faculty and staff to develop UMW’s first Climate Action Plan. This plan (currently in draft stages), when implemented, will move the University toward carbon neutrality by 2035.

Feel free to peruse two versions – one with fewer details and one with more details – of the task force’s draft objectives for the UMW Climate Action Plan.

We request that you review the draft objectives and provide any comments, questions and/or suggestions for change or improvement.

These objectives are designed to be concrete and measurable. They also fall into five categories:

  • Curriculum & Research, i.e. teaching and investigating climate change and climate action
  • Operations, i.e. decreasing carbon emissions in day-to-day operations on campus
  • Transportation, i.e. decreasing carbon emissions from University vehicles and student, faculty and staff vehicles
  • Community & Engagement, i.e. partnering with and engaging local communities about climate change and climate action
  • Greenhouse Gas Inventory, i.e. measuring University carbon emissions in a standard way

Each objective statement is paired with

  1. How the objective connects to carbon reduction
  2. Who is (are) likely the responsible leader(s) for carrying out the objective
  3. What tasks are required to meet the objective (only available in the “more details” format)
  4. What the priority level is for this objective

These documents are view only. Please provide your comments, questions and suggestions at one of the upcoming Townhall Meetings on April 13 and 25, from 4 to 5 p.m. and 5 to 6 p.m., in Lee Hall 411. You may also comment anonymously in our Feedback Dropbox.

For more information on the Climate Action Plan, please visit our webpage. If you have any questions, please contact sustainability@umw.edu.

Sincerely yours,

Sean Morrow, co-chair, Sustainability CoordinatorOffice of Sustainability

Alan B. Griffith, co-chair, ProfessorDepartment of Biological Sciences