December 4, 2020

Women’s History Month Celebrations

Women’s History Month Kick-Off Exhibit
Monday, March 9, 11 a.m.-4 p.m., Room 412, Lee Hall

Body Confidence: Loving you, Living Well
Tuesday, March 10, 6 p.m., Lee Hall, Room 412

Undergraduate Research Forum on Women’s Studies
Wednesday, March 11, 4 – 6 p.m., Lee Hall, Room 411

Film and Discussion: Half the Sky
Thursday, March 12, 7 p.m., Lee Hall, Room 411

Leading Ladies: Celebrating Women in Theater
Friday, March 13, 7 p.m., duPont Hall, Room 115

Privilege Workshop
Saturday, March 14, 7 p.m., Lee Hall, Room 411

Upcoming Black History Month Celebrations

“Building ‘A More Sedate Lady’: A Tale of Demolition, ‘Haggard’ Miami, and ‘Her Suburban Sisters'”
Thursday, Feb. 19, 7:30 p.m.; Monroe Hall, Room 346
N. D. B. Connolly, assistant professor of history at John Hopkin’s University explores the property politics of Afro-America in the Jim Crow era.

25th Annual Step Show and Competition
Saturday, Feb. 21, 7 p.m., George Washington Hall, Dodd Auditorium
Join area step teams as they engage in a high-energy, entertaining competition.

Dinner: Cuisines of Black Cultures
Monday, Feb. 23, 5–7 p.m., Seacobeck Dining Hall
Campus Dining will feature Caribbean cuisine. Cost: meal plan for students, $5 UMW faculty/staff, $11.15 plus tax non-UMW

Panel: Racial Disparities in School Discipline
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 6:30 p.m., Lee Hall, Room 412
This panel presentation will examine the policies and practices at the local, state, and federal level that contribute to disproportionate disciplinary consequences for children of color in the public school system.