January 25, 2020

Book Donation is Music to UMW’s Ears

A definitive book of Russian music has been donated to the University of Mary Washington. The work “The Beauty of Belaieff,” which includes over 100 full color plates of first editions of Russian music and individual biographies, is now available in Simpson Library. UMW Piano Instructor Andrew Kraus holding “The Beauty of Belaieff.” “It will be a wonderful resource for our students and faculty to use when researching Russian music history and its composers,” said Special Collections Librarian Carolyn Parsons. “The volume is not only an excellent work on the history of Belaieff’s Russian music publishing house, but it is also a beautiful book with 144 color reproductions showcasing the works of many Russian composers of the late 19th and early 20th century.” The book donation is the product of a friendship between UMW Piano Instructor Andrew Kraus and Gillian Davis, the widow of the book’s author Richard Beattie Davis, who was an avid collector of first and early editions of Western and Russian music, including the works of Adolph Von Henselt. The friendship developed after Davis discovered that Kraus is one of a few pianists in the world who play Adolph Von Henselt’s music. Henselt, a German who worked in Russia in the 1800s, is known as a founder of the Russian school of pianism. “I’m thrilled to get [this book] for UMW and to have it in the library,” said Kraus. “Not every library will have it, and it could be used as a spring board for other artistic events.” Kraus plans to play a concert in the spring, “Henselt in Context” to commemorate the donation. Click here to view the embedded video.

Maker Mondays

ThinkLab

ThinkLab

Beginning Monday, September 8, the ThinkLab in Simpson Library will be open from 5 to 9 p.m. for an Open Hack night.  Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to stop by to explore 3-D design and printing, tinker with e-textiles, or use any of the tools available in the lab.  Bring your projects and your curiosity.  Share what you know and learn from each other.

UMW Libraries Acquires Photograph of 1920 Summer School Session

UMW Libraries recently purchased a 1920s photograph of “Faculty and Students, Summer School, July 22, 1920, State Normal School” which was showcased in the Flashback section of the Free Lance-Star. The photograph was originally purchased by Ingrid and Michael Kelly at the Big Flea Market in Chantilly. The Kellys, whose daughter and son-in-law graduated from Mary Washington in the 1980s, hoped that by publishing the image in the paper someone might be able to recognize a family member who attended Mary Washington in those early years. Founded in 1908, the University of Mary Washington transitioned from the State Normal School to the State Teachers College at Fredericksburg in 1924.

University historian, William B. “Bill” Crawley, and archivist, Carolyn S. Parsons were contacted by the Free Lance-Star staff regarding the history of the image. President Algernon. B. Chandler, Jr. and Bunyan Yates Tyner, dean and professor of education, were identified seated in the front row surrounded by other students and faculty. Early yearbooks and bulletins usually show only photographs of classes attending the full academic session, so to locate an image of an early summer school session is unique. Already researchers have stopped by the University Archives to see if they can locate their grandmothers or aunts in the photograph.

The original Free Lance-Star article on the photograph is located at http://fredericksburg.com/News/FLS/2012/022012/02212012/678094.

The University Archives collects materials on the history of the University of Mary Washington and serves as the official repository for archival and historical materials for all offices, departments, and divisions of the University. For additional information visit UMW Libraries, Special Collections, at http://libguides.umw.edu/SpecColl.

Jack Bales’ Exhibit Featured in the Chicago Cubs’ Magazine

Jack Bales, reference and humanities librarian, wrote a letter to the editor that is featured in the December 2011 issue of Vine Line, the official magazine of the Chicago Cubs. The letter discusses the exhibit, “Before They Were Loveable Losers: The Pennant-Winning Chicago Cubs,” that has been on display in the Simpson Library since September, and includes two images of the exhibit. The exhibit will remain up until December 16.

Simpson Library Book Loaned to University of Virginia

A rare 1537 book from Simpson Library’s Special Collections holdings is currently on loan to the University of Virginia Art Museum for its exhibit, “Variety, Archeology, and Ornament: Renaissance Architectural Prints from Column to Cornice.” Titled “Regole generali di architetture sopra le cinque maniere degli edifice,” the book is written by the renowned Italian architect Sebastiano Serlio.

The exhibit focuses on the crucial role of prints in the transition from manuscript to printed architectural treatises during the Renaissance. Along with the library’s loan and the museum’s own holdings, the curators selected pieces from various other repositories, such as The Art Institute of Chicago, Metropolitan Museum of Art and Yale Center for British Art, noting that “the exhibition affords a unique opportunity for the study of rare books and prints drawn from several national libraries.” The exhibition will be on view at the University of Virginia Art Museum through December 18, 2011.

For more information about the exhibit, visit http://www.virginia.edu/artmuseum/on_view/exhibitions/Variety_Archeology_Ornament.php